Thing Currently Making Me Happy!

I’d like to flatter the ol’ bloggers tradition of posting “Things Currently Making Me Happy!”  So here goes!

1.  Tina Roth Eisenberg

I recently attended a design forum featuring Swiss Miss herself where she delivered an inspiring speech unveiling her “Eleven Rules I Live By.”  I hope to digest the experience and do a much longer post but for now, I’ll let you discover her on your own and leave you with my two greatest take aways:

“Invest your life in what you love, keep looking for what makes you happy!”

“When things fall into place it is the universe telling you to keep going.”

2.  Leaving the office after receiving this text from the roomie:

…then walking in to find this waiting for you

Cheese Plate!

3.  This immersion Blender!

Smoothies, pestos, dressings, cauliflower pizzas… and that’s only in the first week!  I don’t know that i’ve ever been this excited about an appliance.

Everyone’s gotta eat and I love being able to bring people together and make something that everyone can enjoy!

My roommate and I recently began a wheat-free diet, something I’ll elaborate on in later posts, but I have a feeling this blender will be a lifesaver in allowing us to recreate some of our favorite meals minus the wheat!

4.  Committing to a long term relationship with… my health!

In addition to giving up wheat from my diet, I’ve also decided to begin work with a personal trainer.

I grew up in a family of athletes and played field hockey and lacrosse in high school and went on to play DI field hockey at Radford University.  Saints LaxIMG_0303

It was a challenging four years and kicked my ass a little bit but I wouldn’t trade it for anything.  After graduating, my body was pretty beat up and I was enjoying not “having” to work out so I took a little break from the gym.

Now that I’m over a year out I’m realizing how important health is to sustain.  Seeing my grandfather in his 80’s still playing tennis was a huge eye opener for me.  I want to be able to hang with the best of ’em when I’m older as well.  So I’m working with a trainer to help lock in these healthy habits for life.

Receiving texts like this from my mom help me know I’ve made a good decision!

Texts from Mama

5. This cake

Bay's Cakes

Last weekend my best friend from home made this rad birthday cake  for a friend’s birthday and through the power of social media got a request to bake another!   You heard it here first, Bay’s Cakes are fireworks of flavor! I mean who wouldn’t want a rainbow gagillion layered cake for their birthday?  So happy for her!

6.  This video… because she’s just too cute

Hey, I’d be concerned with what I was wearing before firemen showed up at my door too!

7.  And this video… because he’s just too awesome 

If I could sing… I swear you’d never hear me speak.  Welcome to my musical!

8.  Friday night’s in

Sushi night

…with sushi and my roomie!

9.  My baby sister celebrating her 18th Birthday!

Little bear

baby sis

10.  This blog.

I’m happy I’ve finally taken the plunge!  I’m excited to see where this takes me 🙂

One thought on “Thing Currently Making Me Happy!

Let's hear what you're thinkin!

